Setting list control title via script?

General HouseBot discussion. Any issues that don't fit into any of the other topics belong here.
Post Reply
dlmorgan999
HouseBot Special Member
Posts: 409
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 9:13 am
Location: Tigard, OR

Setting list control title via script?

Post by dlmorgan999 »

I have a list control and I would like to be able to dynamically set the title via a VBscript using a line like this:


Code: Select all

    SetPropertyValue "Ripped DVD List.Title", "** No Titles Found **"


When I run the script I get an error: Unable to find Property with Description [Title]. Am I doing something wrong or is this not supported?



-- Dave
ScottBot
Site Admin
Posts: 2790
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 6:46 pm
Location: Georgia (USA)
Contact:

Post by ScottBot »

The parameters passed to SetPropertyValue() must specify an actual Property and Device running in the System. It won't work with controls on Themes.



You could specify 'no title' for the control on the Theme. Then add a Property Label right above the list to hold the title. Then associate a Property with that control and use the script (with SetPropertyValue) to update a real Property that will be reflected as the title.
Scott
dlmorgan999
HouseBot Special Member
Posts: 409
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 9:13 am
Location: Tigard, OR

Post by dlmorgan999 »

That solution will work just fine. Thanks for the idea Scott! :)
Post Reply