RS-232 and Bose Lifestyle 30 help.....

General HouseBot discussion. Any issues that don't fit into any of the other topics belong here.
bhyland

RS-232 and Bose Lifestyle 30 help.....

Post by bhyland »

Hi All,

I'm a complete NOOB when it comes to Housebot and I'm just taking a look at this for the first time and wondering if I can do some automation at home.

One area I really would love to do is control my Bose system via the serial interface without haveing to drop $150 on the C-1024 RF/IR device ;)

Does anyone have any experience with this? I think I can pickup a 3.5mm serial data cable cheaply but after that I'm lost as I cannot find anything on google regarding the Bose implementation of RS-232 or serial commands? looks like the keep them in the professional installer world.... not a DIY thing I guess?

Well hoping I can find an expert in RS-232 or even better someone who has integrated the Bose Lifestyle 30...

Have to admit getting excited about the possibilities :D I have just ordered my ViewPad on ebay hahaha

Thanks
ScottBot
Site Admin

Post by ScottBot »

Welcome to the world of HouseBot :!:

HouseBot includes a Generic Serial plugin and method for defining your own commands that are sent through the PC comm port. The commands can then be associated to HouseBot Device Properties to be controlled with a Software Remote or Tasks.

I did a quick look too for the Bose RS-232 protocol specification on the Internet and didn't come up with anything at first look. You might want to contact their customer support and see if they can provide you with it (The worst they can do is say "No").
Scott
jabloomf1230

Re: RS-232 and Bose Lifestyle 30 help.....

Post by jabloomf1230 »

bhyland wrote:Hi All,

One area I really would love to do is control my Bose system via the serial interface