Ok, so now I'm sold on Insteon. But I need help - I have added two button controls to control the dim level of an Insteon lamp dimmer. One button for brighten; one for dim. (There is a separate multistate button to turn the device on and off.) Each button ideally increases or decreases the value of the dim level property by some fixed amount. Example: One click of the brighten button adds 10 to the current dim level of the device. The dim button decreases the value of the dim level by 10. Except it doesnt work. My brighten and dim tasks (triggered by the bright and dim buttons) each have one statement that reads something like:
Change 'Theater->Lighting\Theater wall washers.Dim Level' to '%%Theater wall washers.Dim Level%% + 10'
(Thats for the brighten task. The dim task decrements by 10.)
What happens is the Dim task dims the light to the preset dim value, set up at the switch. Changing the value (-10) does not affect the resulting dim level. The brighten task more often than not crashes the HB server.
Sorry to be so wordy, but I'm obviously overlooking something either Insteon or HB related. Anyone have a similar setup?
Insteaon: Setting DIm level with button control
-
- HouseBot Guru
- Posts: 757
- Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2003 8:10 pm
- Location: Pelham AL
-
- HouseBot Guru
- Posts: 757
- Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2003 8:10 pm
- Location: Pelham AL
-
- HouseBot Guru
- Posts: 757
- Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2003 8:10 pm
- Location: Pelham AL
Ok, I created a VB script that brightens the light by 10 percent (sort of.. increases the Dim Level property by 10). That was interesting, as my VB Script knowledge is very limited. Anyway... several questions arise. 1) How can one pass parm values to the script from the task that calls it? (Why should I have to create a bunch of virtually identical scripts when only a few variables (i.e. Insteon device, dim increment, dim direction (+/-) change?)
2) Why is the resulting device Dim Level Value off by one from what I set it to? (no big deal, curiosity question.)
2) Why is the resulting device Dim Level Value off by one from what I set it to? (no big deal, curiosity question.)
Steve
You can create a script device that has properties that you set for the variables you would have passed to the script. The device script is always running and picks up work to do (dim a light, etc) from a device property and then looks at other device properties for other settings (which light, how much to dim, etc)