"Clock Radio" script

General HouseBot discussion. Any issues that don't fit into any of the other topics belong here.
Post Reply
dlmorgan999
HouseBot Special Member
Posts: 409
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 9:13 am
Location: Tigard, OR

"Clock Radio" script

Post by dlmorgan999 »

I've uploaded one of my scripts to the new download section. This script provides the functions of a "clock radio on steroids". Here is what it does:

- a task executes once a minute to compare the current time to the property containing the "alarm time" (stored in properties on the device)
- the script checks against a small Access database that contains all my vacation days
- if the current day is a weekend or matches something in the vacation database the script exits
- otherwise it takes the following actions:
- ramps my bedroom lights to 100% over 5 minutes
- runs a "wake up" macro on my Omni automation controller
- turns on my bedroom audio source

See the attached screenshots of the device and the associated task.

-- Dave
Attachments
ClockRadioTask.jpg
ClockRadioTask.jpg (32.78 KiB) Viewed 3311 times
ClockRadioDevice.jpg
ClockRadioDevice.jpg (39.04 KiB) Viewed 3351 times
raptor_demon
Senior Member
Posts: 141
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 12:55 pm
Location: NC

Re: "Clock Radio" script

Post by raptor_demon »

Hi,

I love this idea! How did you write the database with the vacation days?

thanks

Raptor
kpatel70
Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 4:42 pm

Re: "Clock Radio" script

Post by kpatel70 »

This is cool. Can I get a blank database or the structure?

Thanks.

Kirt
dlmorgan999
HouseBot Special Member
Posts: 409
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 9:13 am
Location: Tigard, OR

Re: "Clock Radio" script

Post by dlmorgan999 »

raptor_demon wrote:Hi,

I love this idea! How did you write the database with the vacation days?

thanks

Raptor
I just created a very simple database using Microsoft Access (this is also what I use to enter new dates). The structure is just one table with three columns. A unique ID column, DateOff and Comment (this field isn't really needed).
Post Reply