Pocket PCs as HB home theater remote?

General HouseBot discussion. Any issues that don't fit into any of the other topics belong here.
jkim

Pocket PCs as HB home theater remote?

Post by jkim »

I am looking for feedback on HB and remote control so this could go into either forum, but here goes. I am new to HB and this maybe a newbie type question.

I am looking for feedback from other users that use pocket PCs as HB home theater remotes. I would think the way to use this would be to design a theme and use the software remote to control HB (right?).

This has to be done right or the wife and kids will hang me out to dry. They are already tired of me turning the TV on/off in the middle of their shows while I program HB. This needs to basically operate like a remote control and I may be better off with a low end Pronto. (I hate to drive all the HB functions through IR/RF when IP is available).

Here are some questions:

1) What is the process to power up a pocket pc and connect to the HB software remote?

2) s it menu driven or icon driven?

3) How long does this process take (approx. seconds)?

4) Does it need to register with the network every time (get an IP address)?

5) Can you leave it powered on an a/c cradle?

6) Can you use a finger to operate or does it require a stylus to navigate?

I know some of these questions may be off base as I just have a basic understanding of how this stuff works. Thanks for your input.
jkim

Post by jkim »

Sorry, one last question.... will any pocket pc work or are there specific OS that I should look for?

Thanks.
BotAll

Re: Pocket PCs as HB home theater remote?

Post by BotAll »

I've been using HB for a month now, it works great (although the support could be a lot better). That said here are a few answers to your questions:

jkim wrote: 1) What is the process to power up a pocket pc and connect to the HB software remote?