Problem running VB Script with HouseBot

General HouseBot discussion. Any issues that don't fit into any of the other topics belong here.
Post Reply
kzpbb2
Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2004 7:56 pm
Location: Rochester, NY USA

Problem running VB Script with HouseBot

Post by kzpbb2 »

Shown below is a snippet of code that runs without error when I run it outside of HouseBot. When I run it from a HouseBot Task, the compiler gives me an error....."Variable is undefined: WScript" and points to the last line shown below. Any ideas why or how to fix? Note - I do NOT use a C: drive letter designation. My bootable (and Windows) drive is letter E: Thanks for any feedback.

Option Explicit
Dim strText, sPath, oFSO, oFolder, oFiles, bolFileIsNewEnough, dFileModDate, oFile, PopInfo, WshShell

sPath = "E:\Documents and Settings\_kzpbb2\Desktop\Scanner Audio Files"

Set oFSO = CreateObject("Scripting.FileSystemObject")
Set WshShell = WScript.CreateObject("WScript.Shell")
Osler
HouseBot Guru
Posts: 742
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 11:18 pm

Re: Problem running VB Script with HouseBot

Post by Osler »

You can not invoke WScript from within the HouseBot scripting host. Most of the things you would need WScript for are already included within HouseBot (i.e., use Sleep(int) instead of WScript.Sleep(int)). If you have a script that absolutely must use WScript, invoke it using a Execute Program device and CScript.exe using command line variables to pass the path to the script.

Osler
Richard Naninck
HouseBot Guru Extraordinaire
Posts: 1121
Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2004 7:49 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Problem running VB Script with HouseBot

Post by Richard Naninck »

One small hint: If you would have put WScript in the search window of this forum, all of the answers you need pop up!
kzpbb2
Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2004 7:56 pm
Location: Rochester, NY USA

Re: Problem running VB Script with HouseBot

Post by kzpbb2 »

Thanks to Osler and Richard Naninck for their advice and guidance. I greatly appreciate your help. I can now run my script without error. From you I've learned a little better how HouseBot works and improved my search skills in this forum. Thanks again.
Post Reply